Why Won’t Those Darn Flags in Mail Go Away

This is a simple solution to a frustrating problem. In the Apple Mail app I have a folder that says Flagged. It’s not something you can throw away. It just appears if you have flagged messages and lists them for you.

That’s how is supposed to work. But for several weeks that folder was there and it said I had six messages. (By the way, this has nothing to do with the new operating system. The problem existed before I undated to Yosemite.) Every time it caught my eye I thought I had new mail. The folder was empty. I searched for flagged messages so I could unflag them and found nothing. It was really getting to me.

I consulted a friend for an answer and this is what worked. I opened every folder in mail one at a time. Be sure to do every one. I used Command A to select them all. Again, be sure to do it this way. Then I flagged every one and immediately unflagged every one. By the time I finished the Flagged folder had disappeared from the folder list in Mail.

This trick will also work if you have messages marked as  unread when you have read them already. To work with this problem do the select all and then select Message > Mark.

Now I can move onto really important stuff, like lunch.

This entry was posted in Mac Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why Won’t Those Darn Flags in Mail Go Away

  1. Vincent says:

    Well done, that worked. Almost 10,000 messages flagged and then flag removed from them all. What a way to remove one flag showing on the Flagged folder which had a no email in the first place. Great solution. Would have gone to lunch early if it had been left to me!

  2. Peter says:

    Thanks for the advice. It worked a treat.

  3. Alexander says:

    Great solution. I looked for that since 1 year ❤

  4. patbunyard says:

    Thank you. One phantom flag can ruin ones day.

  5. I had 5 flagged emails on my computer for too long. could not get rid of them. Today. Dec. 27, 2017, I lucked out. I right clicked a flagged email and sent it to junk mail. did same for all five. Deleted Junk mail. No more flagged emails. I think I got these suckers by swooshing emails on my iPad. If you look closely, you can see the possibility of inadvertently flagging an email. It works for me. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

