In iOS 8 Deleting Photos Doesn’t Really Mean Deleting Photos

So you open the photo app and check out your latest additions. You want to delete several because you don’t need them or they aren’t worth keeping. It’s not so easy any more. Don’t ask me to explain this one because I can’t figure out why it has been added to iOS 8. Most people are going to find it nothing more than a bothersome extra step.

Tap a photo and you get two options – copy and hide.

delete1

You must choose hide whereupon your photo disappears from the list. It goes to a new album that is located at the very bottom of all the albums. The album is named Recently Deleted. That name is a misnomer if ever I heard one. It should be called “Photos I want to delete but iOS 8 won’t let me” Probably wouldn’t fit in the allotted space. All your deleted photos will remain in that folder for 30 days (taking up space), after which point they will be automatically deleted.

delete2

To complete the delete process you must open that folder and delete each image one by one.

This entry was posted in iOS 8, iPhone 6, iPhone Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In iOS 8 Deleting Photos Doesn’t Really Mean Deleting Photos

  1. Pingback: Lu Mccarthy

    • macnancy says:

      That’s not quite true. I know at least three people who are not developers and do not work for Apple who nevertheless beta tested iOS 8.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s