Basic Info For Beginners

Are you trying to help someone learn to use their Mac?  It’s not always easy, and it is particularly hard if you are a child trying to teach a parent. Been there. My dad was over 80 when I finally got him to try a computer. We wanted him to be able to email everyone. I consider myself a good teacher of Mac skills, but teaching my dad how to overcome his fear and embrace a computer was one of the hardest thing I ever did. It was worth it though because he emailed all of us until he was almost 90. Being of his generation, WWII, he had a hard time getting past the cost of internet service.

In that vein I am in the process of preparing some guides for beginners – people who know nothing or are moving from a PC to a Mac.  At one point in my career I published a beginners guide which I sold through the column I write for The Mac Observer. Over time I found that I could not keep it updated because of other obligations so I stopped publishing it.

In this listing I am offering two documents which may be downloaded and used as desired. The first is about the Finder and mice and trackpads.

The second is about the Mac Desktop.

Very shortly I will make the third part available. It will be definitions. The fourth part will be a summary of the apps that come installed in the OS. If these are of interest, please check back.

 

This entry was posted in Beginner Mac Tips, Mac Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

