Looking Up Words The Fast Way

I can’t spell worth a darn. Never have been good at it and never will be. I like to blame it on brain damage I suffered at birth. (I am a twin and I was breach.) It is as good an excuse as any, right? Anyway, I use the dictionary a lot in spite of the fact that I never could understand how I was supposed to look up a word that I didn’t know how to spell. As an adult I have solved this problem by using the Thesaurus. I look up a similar word and hunt through synonyms until I find the spelling of the word I need.

Hey, it beats asking my children.

I also use the Thesaurus for the intended purpose of finding more appropriate words to enhance my writing or my descriptions of products. I mean, how many times can I say a product is awesome before someone gags.

In the past the steps have been to open Safari, open Dictionary.com, switch to Thesaurus and then enter my word for a search. There is a shortcut that might be of interest to those like me to look up words frequently.

I want to look up awesome. In Mountain Lion I enter it into the URL field since that also doubles as the Google search field. In earlier versions I would enter the word into the specific Google search field. Then I hit return and I get all kinds of choices. I select the one I want, thesaurus.com, it opens with my word displayed and researched, and I have a whole list of Synonyms:

  • Part of Speech: adjective
  • Definition: amazing
  • Synonyms: alarming, astonishing, awe-inspiring, awful, beautiful, breathtaking, daunting, dreadful, exalted, fearful, fearsome, formidable, frantic, frightening, grand, hairy*, horrible, horrifying, imposing, impressive, intimidating, magnificent, majestic, mean, mind-blowing*, moving, nervous, overwhelming, real gone, shocking, something else, striking, stunning, stupefying, terrible, terrifying, wonderful, wondrous, zero cool
  • Part of Speech: adjective
  • Definition: great
  • Synonyms: awesome*, bang-up, capital, champion, excellent, fine, first-rate, fly*, top, whiz-bang, wonderful

I find this to be a great (awesome, excellent, wonderful) time saver.

This entry was posted in Beginner Mac Tips, Keyboard Shortcuts, Mac Tips, Mountain Lion Tips, Safari Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

