Control The iPad Dock

The iPad Dock comes with four app icons (Safari, Mail, Photos, and Music).  Just like on your Mac, you can add and delete items on the Dock.  The iPad Dock will hold up to six app icons.  You can choose to add up to two more, or you can remove any of the original four and replace them with something else. For example, I don’t listen to music on my iPad, so I removed the Music icon to a generic spot and put my favorite game on the dock.  If you are into folders, you can choose to place folders on your iPad Dock.

To Add Icons to the Dock

  • At the Home screen (meaning no applications are open) touch and hold the app icon you want to move to the Dock.  All your app icons start wriggling.Release your finger.
  • Drag the app icon to the Dock and then lift your finger off the screen.  Your app now appears on the Dock
  • Press the Home button to stop all your app icons from wriggling.

When icons are wiggling and “x”s show, icons can be moved.

To Remove iCons From the Dock

  • At the Home screen, touch the app icon that you want to move off the Dock until all the app icons start wriggling.
  • Drag the app icon off the Dock, moving it anywhere on th screen, and then lift your finger off the screen.
  • Press the Home button to stop all your app icons from wriggling.

Obviously, if you already have six icons on the Dock and you want to add a different one, you will have to remove one first, or the system will not allow you to add a new one.

This entry was posted in Beginner Mac Tips, iOS Tips, iPad Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Control The iPad Dock

  1. Nathan Lott says:

    I keep five items in my dock so that I have a spot I can use as a placeholder if I want to move an app to a different page. I drag the app into the dock, switch to the page I want, and then drag it out to the position I want.

  2. I love the dock for my favorite webpages. When your on a webpage you like in safari click the forward arrow in the nav bar at the bottom of the screen and select add to homepage. This creates an app icon for the webpage. Drag that to your dock for a quick link to that site.

Leave a Reply

