Determine The Size Multiple Files

I think this is a handy thing to know.  I hope you find it to be so.

We don’t all have servers to save stuff to.  I know I don’t.  Sometimes I just want to free up space on my hard drive, but I don’t necessarily want to throw something away completely.  As an example, I have folders of time sheets from 2008 – 2011.  I need to keep them awhile longer.  There is an easy way to find out if they will all fit on a single thumb drive or DVD.

For this example, I just used 2008.  I highlighted all the time sheets (hold down the command key as you click on each one) in the 2008 folder and then hit Command + Option + I.  When I did that I got an information sheet that gave me composite information about all those forms.

Multiple Files Information Sheet

So now I know that combined they consume 4.4 MB of space and can plan accordingly.  The “open with” option says Not Applicable because all the forms are not the same platform.  Some are Numbers and some are Microsoft Word.

This entry was posted in Beginner Mac Tips, Lion Tips, Mac Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Determine The Size Multiple Files

  1. Omar says:

    Thanks So much but how i get it with mouse only . . . ?

    • macnancy says:

      Hi Omar,

      You can’t get this information just using a mouse. You have to use the mouse (or a scroll pad) and a keyboard together.

      Nancy

  2. Erika says:

    Thank you! That was just the information I needed.

Leave a Reply

