Launchpad in Lion

Have you tried Launchpad in Lion yet?  It is a new feature and one that is particularly popular with people who don’t want to have the every app they use in the Dock.

It’s also helpful when you want to open an app whose name you can’t remember.  Not that that has ever happened to me you understand!

To use it just click on the icon in the Dock and Launchpad opens, full screen.

Launchpad Screen

You will probably have more than one page.  The dots at the bottom of the screen (red circle) indicates how many pages you have and which one you are on.

The first page will always be the principal Apple apps, but it is easy as pie to move them around.  It works like moving apps around on an iPad or phone, but it is easier.  Just grab an icon you want to move by clicking on it and holding down the mouse button and then drag it to whichever screen you want it to land on.

As you can see from the image my Dock is really full, but I am slowly identifying those apps I use every single day and those I don’t.  The ones I use to open documents are staying.  I am in the process of deleting some of the others from the Dock and relying on Launchpad to get to them.

By opening documents I mean that I will drag a Freeway document over the Freeway icon in the Dock to quickly open it.

 

This entry was posted in Beginner Mac Tips, Lion Tips, Mac Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Launchpad in Lion

  1. Frank says:

    You said, “By opening documents I mean that I will drag a Freeway document over the Freeway icon in the Dock to quickly open it.”

    You can more easily open any document with its default application by double clicking it’s icon. The shortcut you’re referring to (dragging a document to an app in the dock) is used when you want to open a document in an app that is joy its default app. For example, if you want to open a plain text document in word or a word document in Pages. Another great use is if you want to attach a document to an email message.

    • macnancy says:

      You are correct Frank. But there are times when it is just easier to drag to the icon. I mentioned Freeway in particular because I have both versions of Freeway (Pro and Express) because I teach people to use that application. By dragging to the correct version icon when opening a webpage to work on it, I bypass messages asking me which version I want to use. The same is true for Preview which applies to your point. I constantly open documents in preview to modify them and do so by dragging to the Dock. I actually think it is faster to drag than to click, but is probably just me.

Leave a Reply

