If Your Mac Is Slow To Open – Try This

If it seems that it takes longer and longer for your Mac to come up when you first turn it on, here is a quick thing you can check before you do the harder stuff.

Open System Preferences. (Apple Menu > System Preferences.)

Now click on Accounts and make sure you are in your Administrator account.

Now click on the Login Items tab.

Accounts Pane, Login Items Tab

This pane lists everything that is directed to open when you turn on your computer.
You might be surprised to know that a number of third party applications (applications made by companies other than Apple) just plop themselves down in this pane so that they will open every time you turn on your computer.

After a lot of experimenting I decided that it was much faster to put the apps I use the most on my Dock and open them from there than to have them automatically open while my computer is coming up. You can remove items from the login list by highlighting them and clicking on the minus button. The check boxes let you hide or view all those apps, but unless you remove them, they will all still open automatically.

If you designate more than one administrator on your machine you will need to do this for each administrator account.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If Your Mac Is Slow To Open – Try This

  1. That’s a nice tip. However, my issue is that my mac slows down when opening applications and closing application (after about an hour of usage). I am on mac mini with 2GB memory with around 300MB free memory when something like this happens. Any clue on what causes this?

    Thanks for any help on this.

    Pothi

    • macnancy says:

      I don’t have an answer to this, sorry. I’m not an expert on the inner workings of my Mac. I assume you have tried the usual cure of running Disk Utility (Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility) to fix any glitches that may exist. The only thing I can suggest is to make an appointment at an Apple store should there be one near you, or call Apple Care at 800 275 2273 if you are in the states. I don’t have numbers for other countries. If you call in, be sure to have your serial number handy. You will find it under the Apple menu > About This Mac. Good luck.

      • I appreciate your detailed reply. Thanks. I’ve been searching for an answer to this issue for a long time. As a first step, I’m going to upgrade the memory to see, if it works. I will share, if things become normal. Thanks again for all the tips in your reply and throughout this blog.

        Pothi

Leave a Reply

