Some recommended “Best Apps”

Tuesday, January 11, 2011, 01:12 AM – Misc

If you have a new iPad or just get overwhelmed in the app store, there is a new book you might like to check out. It is called Best iPad Apps, is written by Peter Meyers, and published by O’Reilly. The MSRP is $21.99. Following are three of the apps that caught my eye as useful to beginners.

StumbleUpon (Best app for finding new web sites)

The app is free, in English only, and requires iOS 3.2 or later. Users have rated it 3 out of 5 stars. There is an iPhone version available as well.

You can pick a general topic and go from there to find recommended sites.

Note Taker HD (Best app for taking notes)

The app is $4.99, in English only, and requires iOS 3.2 or later. Users have rated it 4+ out of 5 stars.

It works great writing with a finger, but I must admit that I much prefer using a Pogo stylus. I use one when entering text on my iPhone and it is much faster for me to write using it than trying to use my finger to write.

IM+ (Best app for instant messaging)

There is a free version and a $9.99 version. Available languages are English, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Slovak, and Spanish. Requires iOS 3.0 or later. Users have rated it 4+ out of 5 stars.

With app you can be connected to GTalk, Yahoo, MSN/Live Messenger, AIM/iChat, ICQ, MySpace, Twitter, Facebook, and Jabber. No pre-registration is required.

I selected the free version and all I had to do was download it and open the app. When I did so I had to select which system I wanted (iChat), give my ID and my password, and I was connected. All of my contacts were listed in the same manner as they appear on iChat.

There are lots more like this in Peter Meyers book.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

