Help, My Mouse is Acting Weird

Thursday, December 16, 2010, 03:50 PM
I was working away, trying to beat a deadline to publish a product review, when my mouse starting acting wonky. (Thats a technical word that means I don’t know what is the matter but I don’t like it.) The right mouse button wouldn’t work. Every time I pressed it, it executed actions that were assigned to the left mouse button.

Very, very frustrating. I set aside the mouse and tried using a different one. No help. I tried using the trackpad. Nothing. I did a restart on my computer. No help there either. Obviously I had a problem.

So I called my daughter, the Mac expert and this is what I did, and you can do if this happens to you.

1. Turn off your computer
2. Unplug everything plugged into it except the power adapter
3. Hold down the power button for 5 seconds
4. Restart your computer

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Help, My Mouse is Acting Weird

  1. Lance says:

    Didn’t work, mouse is moving by itself when I try and use it and computer is very slow and acting like someone else is controlling it???

    • macnancy says:

      I’ll suggest one other quick try, but if this doesn’t work, it is probably time to get professional help. OK, maybe two suggestions. If your mouse is plugged in to your computer (not bluetooth) try unplugging it and plugging it back in. That might solve it. My second suggestion is to install Clean My Mac and let it do it’s thing. If that doesn’t solve it, you are back to the professional help.

Leave a Reply

