Selecting Multiple Items In iTunes

Tuesday, October 7, 2008, 12:24 AM – Tips and Hints

I downloaded four books into my iTunes library so I could put them on my iPod and listen to them while driving. Then I wanted to remove them because they took up a lot of space. The problem is that each book downloaded in little tiny increments. Each book had about 80 entries. I’m not kidding. When it came time to delete them, I was not interested in removing each entry one at a time.

I had places to go and people to see. At the very least the garbage needed to be taken out.

Fortunately there is a way to do this. Unfortunately it does not involve dragging. However, you can cluster as many items in iTunes as you like to either move or delete.

Click on the first one and then hold down the Command Key and click on any others you want included in the group. They do not need to be in a line, concurrent, or in any way touching. As long as you keep the Command Key pressed they will be included and you will know you have included them because they will be highlighted.

When you have finished your grouping release the Command Key and complete your function. In my case I choose Delete from the Edit menu. I could just as easily have chosen to move a group of songs into a special playlist folder.

No more 320 tiny files to delete one at a time.

Nancy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

