Review of the Cricket Laptop Stand

Saturday, July 5, 2008, 07:48 PM – Hardware

Innovative Office Products makes an interesting laptop stand and I recently had the opportunity to evaluate one. It is sleek, attractive, and folds into a compact 8 x 2 inches for easy carrying. It weighs 9.5 ounces. At the widest point is is 1 inch wide.

Cricket in closed position

When opened, the stand will adjust to support laptops up to 12 pounds. It supported my 12 inch G4 nicely with some adjustments although I think it is really designed for the newer versions of Macs. It allows you to adjust the screen to set a comfortable viewing height. As you can see from the graphic of the open stand, there is plenty of airflow to help cool your machine.

Cricket in open position.

The stand comes in three colors, green, black and white. It is also important to note that it is composed of 70% recyclable materials. It sells for $39.95. You can find out more about it at the company web site at www.lcdarms.com

The promotional material says it “folds to fit in your pocket”, but I don’t know many people with pockets 9.5 inches deep. However, it will fit into the outside pockets of many laptop cases or backpacks and perhaps that is what they really mean.

When I first tried to use it, I couldn’t figure out how to open it, but that is really my only complaint. It drew lots of comments and it held my heavy G5 snug and steady during several 2 hour training sessions with students looking over my shoulder, touching my machine, etc.

Overall, I think it worth checking out.

Nancy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

