Reset Safari

Sunday, January 25, 2009, 04:36 PM – Tips and Hints

Last time I tried to make an entry into this blog my Safari was acting wonky. That’s a technical term for it was acting up and I didn’t know why. I would enter the information, hit the publish button, and everything would disappear. I asked my favorite expert and she asked me how long it had been since I had reset Safari.

Obviously it had been too long. I have been doing lots of research and the cache files were really full. As soon as I did the simple reset. everything started working again just fine. When you do a reset you get rid of all the accumulated cache files and other stuff that can slow your browser down.

With Safari open, select Safari > Reset Safari. You get this window.

It is really important that you uncheck the boxes next to things that you don’t want cleaned out, such as your saved names and passwords, and other AutoFill form text. Once you have the boxes set to your satisfaction, you can hit the reset button. That’s all there is to it.

It’s like getting the oil changed in your car.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

