Read Only Error messages

Wednesday, June 10, 2009, 10:33 PM – Tips and Hints

I have my new computer – a 15″ MacBook Pro. It is quite lovely and works like a charm. All my stuff ( why do I have so much stuff?) got transferred over thanks to my talented daughter. Some things I had to download again, but following my own advice I had copies of all my software registration codes so while it took a bit of time it was no great hardship.

Meanwhile, my beloved G4 was repaired and passed on to a hardworking young student who had no computer and no chance of getting one. I was able to load back up the purchased copy of Leopard since my new one came with a copy and I was also able to give her iLife 08 and iWork 08. All legal copies.

So we have two happy people now. All this to explain where I have been. Back to today’s topic.

Some documents get saved as Read Only. Microsoft and PDF documents will frequently do this. Even if it is your own document you may get an error message when you try to make changes. The error message will tell you you don’t have the authority to make changes because the document is “read only”

You can check the status of any document by right-clicking on it and selecting “Get Info” from the menu that opens. Look down at the bottom of the window that opens to “Sharing & Permissions” and you will see what is permitted for the document. It will probably say “read only” somewhere. Try unlocking the lock with your administrative password and clicking on the small arrows in the Privileges column. You may be able to affect the changes you need to make that way.

If that doesn’t work, try saving the document with a new name or in another format. That should certainly solve the problem for you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

