How Can I Look It Up If I Don’t Know How To Spell It?

Saturday, November 22, 2008, 10:47 AM – Tips and Hints

My mother always told me to go look up a word that I didn’t know how to spell. It always drove me crazy. I’m a really poor speller. I spent lots of time at the dictionary.

The Mac world offers so many more options. For instance, you can highlight a word, right click on it and a window will pop up. If you have spelled the word correctly you will be given the option of looking it up in the dictionary. Did you really use the correct spelling of “too”. If you didn’t, you will be offered some alternate spelling choices.

There is another option available to you if you are using an Apple application (Pages, Numbers, Keynote, TextEdit, etc.) This is fast and is really helpful for those of us who really don’t have a clue. I get to stand at the front of the line.

Type the first few letter of the word, the one’s you are most sure are correct. Keep the cursor at that point and hold down the Option and Escape keys. A window will open that gives you a whole list of possible words. If the word you want to use is there, scroll down to it, release the mouse button, and the word fills in for you and you can keep going with the rest of your sentence.

I have tried this in Adobe CS3 and Microsoft Office and it does not work in either. I haven’t tried it in anything else.

Nancy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

