Annotate Images

Saturday, January 2, 2010, 01:48 AM

One of the things I have to do as president of our local Mac users group is make a slide show once a month for our general meeting. As part of that show I like to feature our board members in recognition of all the hard work they do. I do it with a slide show of their pictures. For this new year I decided to add their names to the photos so that visitors could put a name with a face.

I decided to do this because it is so easy to do with the new annotate feature in Preview.

Open your document in Preview. I keep Preview in my Dock because I use it all the time, so I just drag a document over the Preview icon in my document to open it. If you don’t have Preview in your Dock you can right click on the picture and select “Open document with” and choose Preview.

Preview Icon

Once the document is open choose “Annotate” from the Tools menu.

Across the bottom are all your regular options. If you are working with a pdf document there are additional options like adding a link or a note.

To add a name to a picture I choose the add text icon and draw a box where I want the text to go. To choose the font and font size I click on the “Aa” and to select the color I click on the color block.

This has all kinds of uses, particularly the ability to add arrows to pictures and maps.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

