About That Dock

Sunday, June 1, 2008, 10:33 AM – Tips and Hints

The Dock is a funny creature. It seems people either love it or hate it. I fall into the “love it” category. I want everything I need right at my fingertips and I usually have several projects going on at one time. Having the applications I need in the Dock makes my life easier.

Right now I have 33 applications in my Dock. That means my Dock stretches the length of my 15″ PowerBook G4, but that is OK. It works for me. For those who don’t keep so many apps (or folders or documents) on their Dock there is a handy little built in handle that lets you adjust the size of your Dock. Prior to Leopard this handle is indicated by a straight line. In Leopard it looks like this.

Put your cursor over that handle and it changes appearance. When the change takes place, hold down the mouse button and slide the mouse around. Doing so will change the size of the dock.

That “handle” is also the line that separates items that are located on your Dock from items that you have minimized by clicking on the yellow button in the top left corner of your working window.

There are other options available to you for working with your Dock. Select the Apple menu and then select Dock. Play around with the different options available to you to set up your Dock so that it best meets your needs.

Nancy

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

